Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Kleine symphonie

By Hans Lachman

Chamber music
Wind ensemble (2-12 players) (2fl 2ob 2cl 2bn 2h 2tr perc)
location of manuscript archive registration number 125479


Not dated.

1. Moderato

2. Allegro vivace

3. Andante sostenuto

4. Allegro (ma non troppo)

About Hans Lachman

(03/07/1906 - 06/27/1990)
Hans Lachman

Born in Germany as Heinz Lachmann, Hans Lachman started his musical career in film music and light music. After World War II, which he survived by hiding in the province Limburg, he began composing in a modern classical idiom, building up a considerable oeuvre, including Jewish liturgical music. It is hard to believe that his music, so frequently broadcasted, was later completely forgotten until 2008, when his scores were discovered in a damp garden shed. 

by Eleonore Pameijer