Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Oud-Italiaansche suite

By Hans Lachman

Chamber music
Brass ensemble (2-12 spelers) (2tr 3trb)
location of manuscript archive registration number 125464


Not dated. On themes of Italian composers

1. Adagio (Girolamo Frescobaldi)

2. Poco piu mosso (Girolamo Frescobaldi)

3. Animato (Salamone Rossi)

4. Andante (Bernardo Pasquini)

5. Allegro (Arcangelo Corelli)

6. Andante tranquillo (Girolamo Frescobaldi)

7. Allegro (Domenico Zipoli)

About Hans Lachman

(03/07/1906 - 06/27/1990)
Hans Lachman

Born in Germany as Heinz Lachmann, Hans Lachman started his musical career in film music and light music. After World War II, which he survived by hiding in the province Limburg, he began composing in a modern classical idiom, building up a considerable oeuvre, including Jewish liturgical music. It is hard to believe that his music, so frequently broadcasted, was later completely forgotten until 2008, when his scores were discovered in a damp garden shed. 

by Eleonore Pameijer